Robert Stewart Hyer

Born in Georgia and educated at Emory College, Robert Stewart Hyer began his distinguished career as professor of science at Southwestern University in Georgetown, Texas. There, his experiments with ether waves and X-ray reportedly preceded those of Marconi, and he designed Texas' first wireless station, transmitting messages at distances of one mile. He became president of Southwestern University in 1898, then moved to Dallas in 1911 to become the founding president of Southern Methodist University.

It has been said that SMU is Robert Stewart Hyer's monument. He planned the campus, orienting its first building, Dallas Hall, with respect to the North Star. He selected the crimson of Harvard and the blue of Yale as the colors of the University and established Veritas Liberabit Vos as the motto. Translated "The truth shall make you free," this motto was his symbolic vision of the University. As the University became a reality, President Hyer spoke words applicable to each of us in our pursuits today: "While we rejoice over our success, we must remember that the task to which we have set ourselves has only begun ... and make claims to victory only to encourage ourselves to press on to greater things."



APRIL 21, 2024 12:00 P.M.

GRAND BALLROOM
HUGHES TRIGG STUDENT CENTER
SOUTHERN METHODIST UNIVERSITY

SMU

2

42 nd Annual Luncheon

PRESIDING

Elizabeth G. Loboa
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, SMU

WELCOME

R. Gerald Turner *President*, *SMU*

HYER SOCIETY VIDEO

INVOCATION

Lisa Garvin Chaplain & Minister to the University, SMU

LUNCHEON

REMARKS

Caroline Brettell
Professor Emeriti of Anthropology, SMU

2024 AWARD RECIPIENTS

University Achievement Award

Logan Hight Anika Krieger Eric Ryan

University Award for Outstanding Scholar

Brianna Freshwater

INDUCTION

David D. Doyle

Dean, Honors & Scholars Programs and Adjunct Assistant Professor of History, SMU

Sophomore Class

Stephanie E. Ciarochi

Junior Class

Arman Aasif Ahmed Hala Arnouk

Evangeline Bria Bulick Zachary Maxwell Busha

Brianna Renee Freshwater

Jacob William Garza

Fiona L. Graybill

Logan Andrew Hight

Trevor James Isaac

Oghenesuvwe Ariel Kokoricha

Anika Taylor Krieger

Daniel S. Kulti

Andrew Patterson McClure

Gabriel Mongaras*

Nadia Mustafa

Nikolas Patrick Powers

Kathryn Elizabeth Prappas

Alexandra Rachel Pugh

Eric Hossain Ryan

Anna Ramsey Weith

Marcos Alejandro Zertuche*

Anna Kelley Zielke*

Avery Zolfaghari

**Inducted 2021-2022

*Inducted 2022-2023

Senior Class

Caden Scott Arras*
Aisha Akhtar Aslam*
Taryn Mason Beard
Anna Noelle Beckley

Ying-Chu Chen**

Ella Jane Dabney*

Caleigh Brynn Daugherty*

Lillian Grace Derr*

Vinita Ashwini Dixit**

Emily A. Dudley*

Kristen Michelle Edwards*

Paige Marie Edwards*

Blake William Gebhardt*

Angela Sofia Goff*

Celia Luisa Handing*

Hailey Cathleen Hazen*

Elisabeth Grace Hood*

Anne Olivia Hulme*

Minseo Kim

Sarah Joyce Mende*

Mason Benjamin Morland

Juliana Christi Neniel

Travis Andrew Nolan*

Benjamin Michael Perry*

William Hughes Raiford*

Zoe Emily Roberts

Erik Jahveed Rorem*

Angelica Brianna Sanchez

Anna C. Su*

Veronica R. Tanner

Jane Margaret Turner*

Seth Jedrix Villa

Saifiyah Ali Zaki