OPENING CONVOCATION



SOUTHERN METHODIST UNIVERSITY

The Twenty-Second of August
Two Thousand and Twenty-One
Half Past Five O'Clock
McFarlin Memorial Auditorium

A DISTINGUISHED TRADITION

Welcome to SMU's 107th Opening Convocation. One hundred and six entering classes before you participated in this ceremony, which marks the beginning of the academic year.

This afternoon, you officially become a part of the SMU community, symbolized by the Rotunda Passage. You passed through Dallas Hall, the University's first and grandest building, guided by alumni who are also parents of fellow entering students. These alumni represent a lifetime connection to SMU, a connection you now share. Upon graduation you will engage in the Rotunda Recessional, symbolizing the completion of your studies at SMU.

Opening Convocation signifies the start of the academic adventures ahead of you. Today you and your classmates are presented to, and charged by, the University's president to rise to these academic challenges and avail yourself of the many opportunities here at SMU.

CARILLON CONCERT

Quarter until Five in the Afternoon David Y. Son, Carillonneur Fondren Science Tower

ROTUNDA PASSAGE

ORDER OF EXERCISE

PROCESSIONAL

Imperial Brass

PRESENTATION OF
RESIDENTIAL COMMONS BY
FACULTY IN RESIDENCE

Willie Baronet, Armstrong Debra Branch, Morrison-McGinnis ickson-Carr, Virginia-Snider

Carol Dickson-Carr, Virginia-Snider
Sandra Duhé, Cockrell-McIntosh
Daniele Forlino, Kathy Crow
Leanne Ketterlin Geller, Crum
Andrew R. Graybill, Ware
Jim Hart, McElvaney
Alice Kendrick, Loyd
John R. Levison, Boaz
Alberto Pastor, Mary Hay-Peyton-Shuttles

INVOCATION

Elisabeth A. Garvin Chaplain and Minister to the University

WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS

Elizabeth G. Loboa Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

REMARKS

David B. Miller '72, '73 Vice Chair of the SMU Board of Trustees

Pia Vogel

President of the SMU Faculty Senate

Austin T. Hickle '22 Student Body President

SPECIAL MUSIC

SMU Forever by Jimmy Dunne Meadows Convocation Chorus Led by Pamela Elrod Huffman Associate Professor of Music and Director of Choral Activities Joshua Boyd, Accompanist

PRESENTATION OF THE SPEAKER

R. Gerald Turner

President

CONVOCATION ADDRESS

Kenechukwu (K.C.) Mmeje Vice President for Student Affairs

PRESENTATION OF THE ENTERING

STUDENTS

Elena D. Hicks Dean of Undergraduate Admission and Executive Director of

Enrollment Services

CHARGE TO THE STUDENTS AND

R. Gerald Turner

ACCEPTANCE OF THE CONVOCATION REGISTRY

UNIVERSITY HYMN

Varsity

Oh we see the Varsity, Varsity, Varsity, As she towers o'er the hill

Over there.

And our hearts are filled with joy,

SMU, SMU,

Alma Mater, we'll be true

Forever!

BENEDICTION

Craig C. Hill

Dean and Professor of New Testament of Perkins School of Theology

RECESSIONAL

Imperial Brass

OTHER MEMBERS OF THE PLATFORM PARTY

Brad E. Cheves, Vice President for Development and External Affairs

Marc P. Christensen, Dean and Bobby B. Lyle Professor of Engineering Innovation of Lyle School of Engineering

Thomas DiPiero, Dean of Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences

Samuel S. Holland, Algur H. Meadows Dean of Meadows School of the Arts

Holly E. Jeffcoat, Dean of SMU Libraries

Stephanie L. Knight, Leon Simmons Dean of Annette Caldwell Simmons School of Education and Human Development

Thomas W. Mayo, Senior Associate Dean and Professor of Law of Dedman School of Law

Matthew B. Myers, Dean and Tolleson Chair in Business Leadership of Cox School of Business

James E. Quick, Associate Provost for Research and Dean of the Moody School of Graduate and Advanced Studies

Stephen Sekula, Platform Party Marshal and Professor of Physics

Harold W. Stanley, Vice President for Executive Affairs

Melinda Sutton '97, Associate Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students

GUILD OF MARSHALS

Jodi Cooley, Chief Marshal
Bradley Kent Carter, Chief Marshal Emeritus
Thomas B. Fomby, Chief Marshal Emeritus
Nathan S. Balke, Procession Marshal
Hon Keung (Tony) Ng, Assisting Procession Marshal

Karisa T. Cloward, Student Marshal Anindita Das, Student Marshal Jill DeTemple, Faculty Marshal Kevin Paul Hofeditz, Ceremony Marshal Anne E. Lincoln, Marshal for the Alumni Marshals Sidharth Muralidharan, Student Marshal Gregory A. Sommers, Student Marshal

Todd Chiscano, Director of Academic Ceremonies



For more than 100 years, SMU has shaped minds, explored the frontiers of knowledge and fostered an entrepreneurial spirit in its eight degree-granting schools. Taking advantage of unbridled experiences on the University's beautiful campuses and SMU's relationship with Dallas – the dynamic center of one of the nation's fastest-growing regions – alumni, faculty and more than 12,000 graduate and undergraduate students become ethical leaders in their professions and communities who change the world.