

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

2024 Pony Express Award Winners Travis Hunter and Shedeur Sanders to Be Honored at the Doak Walker Award Banquet

Dallas, TX – January 16, 2025 – The 2024 Pony Express Award winners, Travis Hunter and Shedeur Sanders from the University of Colorado, will be honored at the Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet on January 31, 2025. The event, celebrating excellence in college football, will be held at the Omni Hotel in Dallas, Texas.

The Pony Express Award, presented by the Pony Express Huddle Foundation, is named after SMU's legendary running back duo Eric Dickerson and Craig James, recipients of the 2009 PwC Doak Walker Legends Award, whose leadership and teamwork serve as the foundation of this prestigious honor. The selection committee for this year's award was made up of the 2024 SMU football captains, who unanimously chose Sanders and Hunter as the recipients.

The Pony Express Award highlights the efforts of the **Pony Express Huddle Foundation**, which was established in 2024 as a faith-based outreach organization. The foundation's mission is to provide young athletes with mentorship and a moral compass to succeed both on and off the field, promoting character, leadership, and community involvement.

The Doak Walker Award Banquet will honor Ashton Jeanty, recipient of the 2024 Doak Walker Award and Chris Gilbert, recipient of the PwC Doak Walker Legends Award. These prestigious awards are presented to the nation's top college running back and legendary figures in college football, respectively.

The evening will be hosted by **Joel Klatt**, lead college football analyst for FOX Sports, and **Allison Williams**, FOX Sports college football sideline reporter, ensuring an unforgettable celebration of college football excellence.

Jeanty, a 5-9 junior from Jacksonville, FL who played in high school nearby at Lone Star High School in Frisco, TX finished the season with 2,601 yards, rewriting school and conference history books to become Boise State's first ever recipient of the Doak Walker Award. Now Mountain West Conference most valuable player and 2024 Heisman Trophy finalist, Jeanty ranks among the top prospects in the 2025 NFL Draft.

Texas Longhorn legend Chris Gilbert cemented himself in college football history by becoming the first player to rush for 1,000 yards in three consecutive seasons (1966-68). In his college career, Gilbert received All-Southwest Conference honors three times and was a consensus All-

American as a senior in 1968. After college, Gilbert would go on to be drafted in the fifth round of the NFL/AFL Draft by the New York Jets. He would later be inducted into the University of Texas Hall of Honor in 1978, the Texas High School Football Hall of Fame in 1990 and the College Football Hall of Fame in 1999.

The Doak Walker Award presented by the PwC SMU Athletic Forum has been awarded to the nation's top running back since 1990.

The Doak Walker Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA includes college football's most prestigious awards and its 24 awards have honored more than 900 recipients dating back to 1935. This season, 13 NCFAA awards will honor national players of the week each Tuesday. For more information about the NCFAA and its award programs, visit the redesigned NCFAA.org or follow on X at @NCFAA.

For more information or to purchase tickets for the Doak Walker Award Banquet, please visit https://s3.smu.edu/apps/athleticforum/tickets/purchase1TN.asp

Contact: Jeff Lockhart, SMU Phone: 214-768-4314 Email: lockhart@mail.smu.edu