

2020

Teacher Awards

2020 SMU Teacher Awards

Each day, great science teachers guide, encourage, and motivate students. Teachers impress curiosity in their students, which enables growth and learning. Over 200 teachers enter their students in the Regional Fair.

The Science Fair Teacher Award Committee is recognizing twenty teachers for their dedication and commitment to students. These top teachers were selected by the number, performance, and success rate of their students at the fair.

Southern Methodist University and the DRSEF are proud to honor these teachers.

JUNIOR DIVISION

Daniel	Anaya	RENNER MIDDLE SCHOOL
Lauren	Atchison	MURPHY MIDDLE SCHOOL
Sarah	Baldwin	PIONEER HERITAGE MIDDLE SCHOOL
Maritza	Bradshaw	OTTO MIDDLE SCHOOL
MaryAnn	Cowley	OTTO MIDDLE SCHOOL
Anya	McCarthy	RICE MIDDLE SCHOOL
Nahid	Nikpour	BRIGHTER HORIZONS MS
Jason	Pearson	LAWLER MIDDLE SCHOOL
Kelli	Tenant	PEARSON MIDDLE SCHOOL
Melissa	VanHouten	RICE MIDDLE SCHOOL

SENIOR DIVISION

Holly	Anderson	COPPELL HIGH SCHOOL
Julie	Baker	PLANO EAST SENIOR HIGH SCHOOL
Vashka	Desai	JASPER HIGH SCHOOL
Cathy	Douglas	COPPELL HIGH SCHOOL
Amanda	Dunn	PLANO EAST SENIOR HIGH SCHOOL
Tiffany	Grimes	PLANO SENIOR HIGH SCHOOL
Anna	Henicke	SHEPTON HIGH SCHOOL
Rhonda	Kurtz	MCMILLEN HIGH SCHOOL
Neil	Milburn	PLANO WEST SENIOR HIGH SCHOOL
Teresa	Walls	JASPER HIGH SCHOOL

2020 Fluor First Teacher Award

This year's Science Fair quest began in August 2018, with the Fluor Science Fair Teacher Workshop hosted by the Caruth Institute for Engineering Education at Southern Methodist University.

Around 45 teachers from local public and private schools attended, including many new to the regional science fair.

To encourage teachers from schools entering their students in the DRSEF for the first time in 2018, the Science Fair Teacher Award Committee recognizes teachers with Fluor First Awards for their initiative and their commitment to students. They are selected by the number, performance, and success rate of their students at the fair.

Fluor and the DRSEF are proud to honor the Junior Division Award to:

Saira Cherian

Harmony School of Innovation, Dallas MS

Charter

Fluor and the DRSEF are proud to honor the Senior Division Award to:

Yaritza Ortiz

R L Turner High School

Carrollton-Farmers Branch