OTHER MEMBERS OF THE PLATFORM PARTY

Brad E. Cheves, Vice President for Development and External Affairs Heather R. DeShon, Platform Marshal and Professor of Geophysics

Thomas DiPiero, Elisabeth Martin Armstrong Dean of Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences

Samuel S. Holland, Algur H. Meadows Dean of Meadows School of the Arts

Nader Jalili, Mary and Richard Templeton Dean of Lyle School of Engineering

Holly E. Jeffcoat, Dean of SMU Libraries

Stephanie L. Knight, Leon Simmons Dean of Annette Caldwell Simmons School of Education and Human Development
Kenechukwu (K.C.) Mmeje, Vice President for Student Affairs Jason P. Nance, Judge James Noel Dean of Dedman School of Law
Robin S. Poston, Moody Dean of the Moody School
Harold W. Stanley, Vice President for Executive Affairs
Melinda Sutton '97, Associate Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students

GUILD OF MARSHALS

Thomas Osang, Chief Marshal Thomas B. Fomby, Assisting Chief Marshal Bradley Kent Carter, Chief Marshal Emeritus Monnie McGee, Procession Marshal Stephen D. Robertson, Assisting Procession Marshal

Brandi Coleman, Student Marshal Roy Heller, Faculty Marshal Kevin Paul Hofeditz, Ceremony Marshal Maribeth Kuenzi, Marshal for the Alumni Marshals Sidharth Muralidharan, Student Marshal Daniel R. Reynolds, Student Marshal Bivin Sadler, Student Marshal

O P E N I N G C O N V O C A T I O N



S O U T H E R N M E T H O D I S T U N I V E R S I T Y

SMU

For more than 100 years, SMU has shaped minds, explored the frontiers of knowledge and fostered an entrepreneurial spirit in its eight degree-granting schools. Taking advantage of unbridled experiences on the University's beautiful campuses and SMU's relationship with Dallas – the dynamic center of one of the nation's fastest-growing regions – alumni, faculty and more than 12,000 graduate and undergraduate students become ethical leaders in their professions and communities who change the world. The Twentieth of August Two Thousand and Twenty-Three Quarter Until Two O'Clock McFarlin Memorial Auditorium

A DISTINGUISHED TRADITION

Welcome to SMU's 109th Opening Convocation. One hundred and eight entering classes before you participated in this ceremony, which marks the beginning of the academic year.

This afternoon, you officially become a part of the SMU community, symbolized by the Rotunda Passage. You passed through Dallas Hall, the University's first and grandest building, guided by alumni who are also parents of fellow entering students. These alumni represent a lifetime connection to SMU, a connection you now share. Upon graduation you will engage in the Rotunda Recessional, symbolizing the completion of your studies at SMU.

Opening Convocation signifies the start of the academic adventures ahead of you. Today you and your classmates are presented to, and charged by, the University's president to rise to these academic challenges and avail yourself of the many opportunities here at SMU.

CARILLON CONCERT

Half Past Twelve in the Afternoon David Y. Son, Carillonneur Fondren Science Tower

ROTUNDA PASSAGE

ORDER OF EXERCISE

PROCESSIONAL

Imperial Brass

Debra Branch,

Willie Baronet, Armstrong

PRESENTATION OF Residential commons by Faculty in residence

ENCE Morrison-McGinnis Carol Dickson-Carr, Virginia-Snider Daniele Forlino, Kathy Crow Leanne Ketterlin Geller, Crum Justin Germain, Loyd Andrew R. Graybill, Ware John R. Levison, Boaz Alberto Pastor, Mary Hay-Peyton-Shuttles Maria del Pilar Melgarejo, Cockrell-McIntosh Ashley Stone, McElvaney

INVOCATION

Elisabeth A. Garvin Chaplain and Minister to the University Elizabeth C. Laboa

WELCOME AND Elizabeth G. Loboa INTRODUCTIONS Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs REMARKS David B. Miller '72, '73 Chair of the SMU Board of Trustees Michael S. Harris President of the SMU Faculty Senate Alex Alarcón '24 Student Body President SPECIAL MUSIC SMU Forever by Jimmy Dunne Meadows Convocation Chorus Led by Chris Mason, interim Choir Director Joshua Boyd, piano **Imperial Brass** PRESENTATION OF THE SPEAKER Elizabeth G. Loboa CONVOCATION ADDRESS R. Gerald Turner President "World Changers Shaped Here" PRESENTATION OF Elena D. Hicks Assistant Vice Provost and THE ENTERING Dean of Admission STUDENTS CHARGE TO THE STUDENTS AND R. Gerald Turner ACCEPTANCE OF THE CONVOCATION REGISTRY UNIVERSITY HYMN Varsity Oh we see the Varsity, Varsity, Varsity, As she towers o'er the hill Over there. And our hearts are filled with joy, SMU, SMU, Alma Mater, we'll be true Forever!

BENEDICTION

Bishop Michael McKee '78 Leighton K. Farrell Dean of Perkins School of Theology, ad interim

RECESSIONAL

Imperial Brass