OTHER MEMBERS OF THE PLATFORM PARTY

Gary K. Brubaker, Director of SMU Guildhall

Brad E. Cheves, Vice President for Development and External Affairs Rakesh Dahiya, Chief Investment Officer

Heather R. DeShon, Platform Marshal and Professor of Geophysics Thomas DiPiero, Dean of Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences Samuel S. Holland, Algur H. Meadows Dean of Meadows School of the Arts

Holly E. Jeffcoat, Dean of SMU Libraries

Stephanie L. Knight, Leon Simmons Dean of Annette Caldwell Simmons School of Education and Human Development

Paul S. Krueger, Dean ad interim of Lyle School of Engineering Kenechukwu (K.C.) Mmeje, Vice President for Student Affairs Matthew B. Myers, Dean and Tolleson Chair in Business Leadership of Cox School of Business

Jason P. Nance, Judge James Noel Dean of Dedman School of Law
Robin S. Poston, Dean of the Moody School of Graduate and
Advanced Studies and Associate Provost for Graduate Education
Harold W. Stanley, Vice President for Executive Affairs
Melinda Sutton '97, Associate Vice President for Student Affairs and
Dean of Students

Paul J. Ward, Vice President for Legal Affairs, General Counsel and Secretary to the Board of Trustees

GUILD OF MARSHALS

Thomas B. Fomby, Chief Marshal Emeritus Bradley Kent Carter, Chief Marshal Emeritus Thomas Osang, Procession Marshal Stephen D. Robertson, Assisting Procession Marshal

Karisa T. Cloward, Student Marshal
Jill DeTemple, Faculty Marshal
Kevin Paul Hofeditz, Ceremony Marshal
Maribeth Kuenzi, Marshal for the Alumni Marshals
Sidharth Muralidharan, Student Marshal
Daniel R. Reynolds, Student Marshal
Bivin Sadler, Student Marshal

SMU

For more than 100 years, SMU has shaped minds, explored the frontiers of knowledge and fostered an entrepreneurial spirit in its eight degree-granting schools. Taking advantage of unbridled experiences on the University's beautiful campuses and SMU's relationship with Dallas – the dynamic center of one of the nation's fastest-growing regions – alumni, faculty and more than 12,000 graduate and undergraduate students become ethical leaders in their professions and communities who change the world.

O P E N I N G C O N V O C A T I O N



SOUTHERN METHODIST UNIVERSITY

The Twenty-First of August
Two Thousand and Twenty-Two
Quarter Until Two O'Clock
McFarlin Memorial Auditorium

A DISTINGUISHED TRADITION

Welcome to SMU's 108th Opening Convocation. One hundred and seven entering classes before you participated in this ceremony, which marks the beginning of the academic year.

This afternoon, you officially become a part of the SMU community, symbolized by the Rotunda Passage. You passed through Dallas Hall, the University's first and grandest building, guided by alumni who are also parents of fellow entering students. These alumni represent a lifetime connection to SMU, a connection you now share. Upon graduation you will engage in the Rotunda Recessional, symbolizing the completion of your studies at SMU.

Opening Convocation signifies the start of the academic adventures ahead of you. Today you and your classmates are presented to, and charged by, the University's president to rise to these academic challenges and avail yourself of the many opportunities here at SMU.

CARILLON CONCERT

Half Past Twelve in the Afternoon David Y. Son, Carillonneur Fondren Science Tower

ROTUNDA PASSAGE

ORDER OF EXERCISE

PROCESSIONAL

Imperial Brass

PRESENTATION OF
RESIDENTIAL COMMONS BY
FACULTY IN RESIDENCE

Willie Baronet, Armstrong Debra Branch, Morrison-McGinnis

Carol Dickson-Carr, Virginia-Snider
Sandra Duhé, Cockrell-McIntosh
Daniele Forlino, Kathy Crow
Leanne Ketterlin Geller, Crum
Andrew R. Graybill, Ware
Alice Kendrick, Loyd
John R. Levison, Boaz
Alberto Pastor, Mary Hay-Peyton-Shuttles
Ashley Stone, McElvaney

INVOCATION

Elisabeth A. Garvin Chaplain and Minister to the University

WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS

Elizabeth G. Loboa Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

REMARKS

David S. Huntley '80 Member of the SMU Board of Trustees

Robert J. Frank President of the SMU Faculty Senate

> Sydney P. Castle '23 Student Body President

SPECIAL MUSIC

SMU Forever by Jimmy Dunne Macy L. Mullins '23, Vocalist Imperial Brass

PRESENTATION OF THE SPEAKER

Elizabeth G. Loboa

CONVOCATION ADDRESS "World Changers Shaped Here"

R. Gerald Turner President

PRESENTATION OF THE ENTERING STUDENTS Elena D. Hicks Dean of Undergraduate Admission and Executive Director of

Enrollment Services

CHARGE TO THE STUDENTS AND

R. Gerald Turner

ACCEPTANCE OF THE CONVOCATION REGISTRY

UNIVERSITY HYMN

Varsity

Oh we see the Varsity,

Varsity, Varsity,

As she towers o'er the hill

Over there.

And our hearts are filled with joy,

SMU, SMU,

Alma Mater, we'll be true

Forever!

BENEDICTION

Craig C. Hill

Dean and Professor of New Testament of

Perkins School of Theology

RECESSIONAL

Imperial Brass