Academic Support Services

University Advising Center

Director      
Ms. Ellen Richmond erichmond@smu.edu 408M Blanton 8-2116
Administrative Assistant      
Ms. Dania Ortiz daniao@smu.edu 408 Blanton 8-2291

smu.edu/dedman/advise/

Academic advisors assist students in planning course schedules, and in focusing on long-range planning and curricular design to help achieve multiple goals. Students may arrange individual advising conference and advisors welcome drop-in visits. Students must have written approval from their advisor to add or drop any course.

Academic Advisors

Ms. Carolyn Barden cbarden@smu.edu 408Q Blanton 8-4009
Dr. Scott Bartlett sbartlet@smu.edu 408H Blanton 8-1526
Mrs. Ashley Farrell afarrell@smu.edu 408D Blanton 8-3741
Mr. Rick Garza (UHP) rgarza@smu.edu 408E Blanton 8-1516
Ms. Janet Hopkins jhopkins@smu.edu 408K Blanton 8-1272
Mrs. Lexi Luzarraga aluzarraga@smu.edu 408B Blanton 8-2815
Mrs. Pam McNulty pmcnulty@smu.edu 408N Blanton 8-4194
Ms. Sheumona Miller swmiller@smu.edu 408P Blanton 8-4143
Ms. Ebonii Nelson etnelson@smu.edu 408R Blanton 8-2625
Mr. Timothy Norris tvnorris@smu.edu 408L Blanton 8-4549
Ms. Jeanene Renfro jeanene@smu.edu 408J Blanton 8-2103
Mrs. Daphne Shipowitz dshipowitz@smu.edu 408F Blanton 8-1970

Pre-Law Services

Ms. Janet Hopkins jhopkins@smu.edu 408K Blanton 8-1272

Office of Pre-Health Advising

Ms. Gwen LaCroix glacroix@smu.edu 135 Dedman Life Science Bldg 8-4604
Mr. Caleb Marsh cdmarsh@smu.edu 135 Dedman Life Science Bldg 8-2308

Lyle School of Engineering

Ms. Eileen Hoy ehoy@smu.edu 400 B Caruth Hall 8-3415
Ms. Deanna tilley dtilley@smu.edu 400 Caruth Hall 8-2189
Dr. Betsy Willis bwillis@smu.edu 400D Caruth Hall 8-1732

Mustang Bridge Program

Ms.Paviell Chriss pchriss@smu.edu 100 Blanton 8-4300

The Multimedia Center

Director: Tyeson Seale
smu.edu/cul/flc/ic/multimedia.asp
Multimedia Center - Ph. (214) 768-4584

The Multimedia Center is a part of the Information Commons of Fondren Library and is a place where SMU students can create, edit and practice digital projects, such as video editing, PowerPoint, website development, blogs, touch computing and much more. The Center features 14 individual iMac computers stations with a variety of software and a group project/practice room, also equipped with Mac computers, as well as the Touch Learning Center, a room which provides access to 15 iPads and a 70-inch LED monitor. Individual stations are designed to be self-serve and while staff assistance is available, dedicated one-on-one support should be scheduled in advance.

The Center welcomes walk-in students, both individuals and groups. If you require one-on-one support for a digital project, please contact the center, multimedia@smu.edu, in advance so that support accommodations can be made.

The Center also features a multifunction Screening Room located in Room 109B of Fondren Library East, which has a capacity of 40 students and provides access to VHS, DVD (both NTSC & PAL formats) and an iMac computer. To schedule use of this room, send an email to fle109b@smu.edu for more information.

SMU STAR Program

The Student Technology Assistance in Residence (STAR) program recruits and trains students to become proficient in the use of technology to support the most common needs of faculty using technology in their course.

smu.edu/stars/
Fondren Library East 108
Ph: (214) 768-3867

Office of Information Technology

Chief Information Officer for Information Technology: Joe Gargiulo
smu.edu/oit
Blanton Student Services Building
Help Desk: (214) 768-4357

The Altshuler Learning Enhancement Center (A-LEC)

Director: Sue Bierman
smu.edu/alec/
202 Loyd Center
Student Appointments: (214) 768-3648
Business Office: (214) 768-6725

The A-LEC offers many different opportunities for students to maximize their learning effectiveness. Students may register for HDEV 1110: ORACLE (Optimum Reading, Attention, Comprehension, and Learning Efficiency), a class devoted to developing students' reading rate, comprehension, and learning strategies. The A-LEC provides free drop-in workshops to allow students to improve their study skills and tutoring is provided by SMU undergraduate students for most first- and second-year courses. For students who want help with a problem in studying a particular text or preparing for a test, A-LEC Learning Specialists offer individual appointments.

Writing Center

Coordinator: Lee Gibson
smu.edu/alec/wc.asp
202 Loyd Center
Phone: (214) 768-3648

The Writing Center, staffed by English department faculty, provides students with assistance in the process of developing and drafting papers for SMU courses. The Writing Center faculty will not edit or proofread work, but they will answer any specific questions the student may have about his or her draft. Appointments are necessary in order to reserve a half-hour tutorial. Please call at least two days ahead of time.

Disability Accommodations & Success Strategies (DASS)

smu.edu/alec/dass
202 Loyd Center
Phone: (214) 768-1470
 
   
Associate Director: Alexa Taylor Ph: (214) 768-1918
Disability Acccommodations Coordinators:

Michelle Bufkin

Ph: (214) 768-1232
Christy Raines Ph: (214) 768-4557
Learning Disabilities Specialist: David Tylicki Ph: (214) 768-4773
Administrative Coordinator: Candy Brown Ph: (214) 768-1470

 

Last revision - 01 August 2013

 

 
The Office of the Dean of Student Life is a department in the Division of Student Affairs.