Spirit Point Image
Cover from Volume 59, No. 2 (Spring 1974). This photograph, "La Raza," was taken by William E. McRae.


David Nathan Meyerson Fiction Prize

The winner of the 2010 David Nathan Meyerson Fiction Prize is Roz Spafford. The winning short story, "Drought," will appear in Southwest Review Volume 95, No. 4. Honorable Mention goes to "The Names of All Things" by Grant Faulkner.

Meyerson Fiction Prize Finalists were:

Jacob M. Appel
"Saluting the Magpie"

Alethea Black

Alix Christie
"To Ground"

Eric Freeze

Anne Trooper Holbrook
"The Troubles of North LaPorte"

Dwight Holing

Karen Sagstetter
"My Other Mother"

Patricia Smith

This year's judge was Bret Anthony Johnston. Congratulations to Roz Spafford and all of the finalists. It was an honor to read your work.

To submit your story for the 2012 Meyerson Fiction contest, click here.

Southern Methodist University
PO Box 750374 . Dallas TX 75275-0374
214-768-1037 . Fax 214-768-1408
Email: swr@smu.edu
Copyright Southwest Review 2011