Spirit Point Image
Cover from Volume 67, No. 3 (Summer 1982).


Morton Marr Poetry Prize

(The winning poems appear in Southwest Review Volume 98, No. 1.)

Ellen Kaufman
First Place
"These Lines are Beams of Light"


Hailey Leithauser
Second Place
"In My Last Past Life"


Mary Kovaleski Byrnes
Honorable Mention
"Midnight in the Dnipro Hotel Lobby"


The Finalists were: (in no particular order)

Michael Shewmaker
Carol Light
James Dott
Ben Courchesne
Frank Osen
Lucy Anderton
Jennifer Wheelock
Jenny Doughty
Kevin Patrick McCabe
Tom Daley
Katie Hartsock
Bill Christophersen
Lisa Rosinsky
Mark S. Bauer
Kate Bolton Bonnici
Gregory Loselle
Burt Myers
Adrienne Raphel
Douglas Basford
Shaune Bornholdt
Richie Hofmann
Cheryl Whitehead
David Landon


This year's judge was John Koethe. Congratulations to all. It was an honor to read your work.

To submit your poem(s) for the 2013 Marr Poetry Prize contest, click here.

Southern Methodist University
PO Box 750374 . Dallas TX 75275-0374
214-768-1037 . Fax 214-768-1408
Email: swr@smu.edu
Copyright Southwest Review 2012