Spirit Point Image
The Volume 10, No. 1 (October 1924) issue was the first to bear the new title Southwest Review and the first issue published by SMU.


The SWR offers awards for the best works of fiction, nonfiction, and poetry published in the magazine. These awards are given by the editors and are not contests.

The McGinnis Ritchie Award

Robert F. Ritchie, who died in 1997, was a long-time and generous supporter of the Southwest Review. In 1960 he established the John H. McGinnis Memorial Award to honor the man who edited the Southwest Review from 1927 to 1943. With a bequest in his will, Mr. Ritchie enabled us to maintain the tradition of his generosity. Since 1998, the  McGinnis-Ritchie Award has been given annually to the best works of fiction and nonfiction published during the previous year in these pages. The awards consist of cash prizes of $500.

Ashlee Adams Crews
2013 McGinnis-Ritchie Award for Fiction
"Church Time"
(Volume 98, number 1)

Ashlee Adams Crews grew up in middle Georgia and now lives in Durham, North Carolina with her husband and daughter. “Church Time” won the 2011 James Hurst Prize for Fiction, judged by Ron Rash at North Carolina State University. Her stories have appeared in McSweeney’s, the Pushcart Prize Series, Shenandoah, The Southern Review, and Prairie Schooner, and her story collection, “Called Out,” was a 2012 finalist for The Flannery O’Connor Award.


Emily Fridlund
2013 McGinnis-Ritchie Award for Fiction
"History of Wolves"
(Volume 98, number 2)

Emily Fridlund's fiction has appeared in Boston Review, New Orleans Review, Sou’wester, and many other journals. She is currently an Endowed Fellow at the University of Southern California, where she is pursuing her Ph.D. “History of Wolves” is the first chapter of her novel by the same name.


Jonathan Fink
2013 McGinnis-Ritchie Award for Nonfiction, Essay
"'The Holy Land Experience"
(Volume 98, number 3)

Jonathan Fink is an associate professor and the director of Creative Writing at University of West Florida, where he also edits Panhandler Magazine (www.panhandlermagazine.com). He has received fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, the Florida Division of Cultural Affairs, and Emory University, among other institutions. His poems and essays have appeared or are forthcoming in Poetry, New England Review, TriQuarterly, Virginia Quarterly Review, The Southern Review, Southwest Review, and Witness, among other journals.


Wyn Wachhorst
2013 McGinnis-Ritchie Award for Nonfiction, Essay
"Come Back, Shane!: The National Nostalgia"
(Volume 98, number 1)

Wyn Wachhorst is author of Thomas Alva Edison: An American Myth (mit Press) and The Dream of Spaceflight: Essays on the Near Edge of Infinity (Basic Books). He has been speech writer for Apollo astronaut Buzz Aldrin. His work has also appeared in many periodicals, including The Yale Review, The Virginia Quarterly Review, The Massachusetts Review, San Francisco magazine, Mechanical Engineering, Isis, The Explorers Journal, and in anthologies.


The Stover Memorial Award

The Elizabeth Matchett Stover Memorial Award was established in 1978 by Jerry S. Stover of Dallas in memory of his mother, who was for many years a key member of the Southwest Review staff. The award consists of a $300 cash prize and is given to the author of the best poem published in the magazine during the preceding year.

Marit MacArthur
2013 Elizabeth Matchett Stover Award
 "The Dwarf Lemon Speaks"
(Volume 98, number 1)

Marit MacArthur is an associate professor of English at CSU Bakersfield. Her essays, reviews, interviews, translations, and poems have appeared in ZYZZYVA, American Poetry Review, World Literature Today, PMLA, The Yale Review, LIT, Poetry Flash, Contemporary Poetry Review, Poetry International, VERSE, and other journals. She is an MFA candidate in poetry at the Warren Wilson MFA Program for Writers.


Joseph Campana
2013 Elizabeth Matchett Stover Award
 "The Baptist"
(Volume 98, number 2)

Joseph Campana is a poet, critic, and scholar of Renaissance literature. He is the author of The Pain of Reformation: Spenser, Vulnerability, and the Ethics of Masculinity (Fordham University Press, 2012), and two collections of poetry, The Book of Faces (Graywolf, 2005) and Natural Selections (2012), which received the Iowa Poetry Prize. His poems appear in Slate, Kenyon Review, Poetry, Conjunctions, Colorado Review, and many other venues. He teaches literature and creative writing at Rice University.


To view the 2007 award winners, click here.

To view the 2008 award winners, click here.

To view the 2009 award winners, click here.

To view the 2010 award winners, click here.

To view the 2011 award winners, click here.

To view the 2012 award winners, click here.

Southern Methodist University
PO Box 750374 . Dallas TX 75275-0374
214-768-1037 . Fax 214-768-1408
Email: swr@smu.edu
Copyright Southwest Review 2014