Spirit Point Image
Cover from Volume 67, No. 3 (Summer 1982).


The SWR offers awards for the best works of fiction, nonfiction, and poetry published in the magazine. These awards are given by the editors and are not contests.

The McGinnis Ritchie Award

Robert F. Ritchie, who died in 1997, was a long-time and generous supporter of the Southwest Review. In 1960 he established the John H. McGinnis Memorial Award to honor the man who edited the Southwest Review from 1927 to 1943. With a bequest in his will, Mr. Ritchie enabled us to maintain the tradition of his generosity. Since 1998, the  McGinnis-Ritchie Award has been given annually to the best works of fiction and nonfiction published during the previous year in these pages. The awards consist of cash prizes of $500.

J. F. Glubka
2012 McGinnis-Ritchie Award for Fiction
"Heat Lightning"
(Volume 97, number 4)

J. F. Glubka is a native Oregonian and a graduate of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop, where he received help from many good people. He has been a teacher, postal worker, and most frequently, an insomniac. He lives in Eugene.


Jacob Newberry
2012 McGinnis-Ritchie Award for Fiction
"The Long Bright World"
(Volume 97, number 4)

Jacob Newberry is pursuing a Ph.D. in Creative Writing (Poetry) at Florida State University, where he is the recipient of the University Fellowship. He spent last year in Jerusalem, after being awarded a Fulbright Fellowship in Creative Writing. His poetry, fiction, and nonfiction have appeared or are forthcoming in Granta, The Kenyon Review, The Iowa Review, TriQuarterly, The Normal School, and Best New Poets 2011, among others.


Gorman Beauchamp
2012 McGinnis-Ritchie Award for Nonfiction, Essay
"'But Tiepolo is My Painter': Twain on Art in A Tramp Abroad"
(Volume 97, number 4)

Gorman Beauchamp recently retired, is Emeritus Professor of Humanities at the University of Michigan. He has published a book on Jack London and more than eighty scholarly essays on subjects ranging from Shakespeare to science fiction.


Ann Peters
2012 McGinnis-Ritchie Award for Nonfiction, Essay
"The House on the Ledge"
(Volume 97, number 1)

Ann Peters is an assistant professor of English at Stern College of Yeshiva University. She is currently working on a book, House Hold: Meditations on American Place. Weaving together readings of American fiction and personal memory, the book explores how we make places and how places make us.


The Stover Memorial Award

The Elizabeth Matchett Stover Memorial Award was established in 1978 by Jerry S. Stover of Dallas in memory of his mother, who was for many years a key member of the Southwest Review staff. The award consists of a $300 cash prize and is given to the author of the best poem published in the magazine during the preceding year.

John Hennessey
2012 Elizabeth Matchett Stover Award
 "Green Man, Blue Pill"
(Volume 97, number 3)

John Hennessey is the author of Bridge and Tunnel, a poetry collection. His poems have appeared or are forthcoming in Poetry, LIT, The New Republic, The Antioch Review, Explosion-Proof Magazine, Harvard Review, The Yale Review, Jacket, and other journals. He teaches at the University of Massachusetts and serves as poetry editor at The Common, a new journal based at Amherst College.


Morri Creech
2012 Elizabeth Matchett Stover Award
 "Age of Wonders"
(Volume 97, number 2)

Morri Creech’s collection Field Knowledge (Waywiser, 2006) won the first annual Anthony Hecht Prize. New work will appear or has been published in The Southern Review, The New Criterion, First Things, The Yale Review, and elsewhere. He teaches at Queens University of Charlotte. His third book, The Sleep of Reason, is forthcoming from Waywiser Press.


Southern Methodist University
PO Box 750374 . Dallas TX 75275-0374
214-768-1037 . Fax 214-768-1408
Email: swr@smu.edu
Copyright Southwest Review 2014