Spirit Point Image
Autumn 1961 cover.


The SWR offers awards for the best works of fiction, nonfiction, and poetry published in the magazine. These awards are given by the editors and are not contests.

The McGinnis Ritchie Award

Robert F. Ritchie, who died in 1997, was a long-time and generous supporter of the Southwest Review. In 1960 he established the John H. McGinnis Memorial Award to honor the man who edited the Southwest Review from 1927 to 1943. With a bequest in his will, Mr. Ritchie enabled us to maintain the tradition of his generosity. Since 1998, the  McGinnis-Ritchie Award has been given annually to the best works of fiction and nonfiction published during the previous year in these pages. The awards consist of cash prizes of $500.

Alix Christie
2011 McGinnis-Ritchie Award for Fiction
"To Ground"
(Volume 96, number 1)

Alix Christieís articles and commentary have appeared in the Washington Post, International Herald Tribune, The Economist, The Guardian, and the San Francisco Chronicle, among other publications. Her first novel, Hard News, was a semi-finalist in the 2008 Amazon Breakthrough Novel contest. Her stories have appeared in Other Voices and For Sale, Baby Shoes, Never Worn: Six Words, Six Stories, Six Writers, a limited edition from Foolscap Press.


Jo Lloyd
2011 McGinnis-Ritchie Award for Fiction
"Tarnished Sorry Open"
(Volume 96, number 4)

Jo Lloyd was brought up in South Wales and now lives in Oxford. In 2009 she won the Asham Short Story Award and the Willesden Herald International Short Story Prize. Her stories have appeared in Waving at the Gardener (Bloomsbury), New Short Stories 3 (Pretend Genius), Cut to the Bias (Honno), Riptide, and elsewhere.


Christopher Bakken
2011 McGinnis-Ritchie Award for Nonfiction, Essay
"Octopus Ear"
(Volume 96, number 3)

Christopher Bakken is the author of two books of poetry, Goat Funeral (2006) and After Greece (2001). He is also co-translator of The Lionsí Gate: Selected Poems of Titos Patrikios. "Octopus Ear" is a chapter from Honey, Olives, Octopus, a collection of essays set in Greece.


Kathryn Starbuck
2011 McGinnis-Ritchie Award for Nonfiction, Essay
"Return to Sender"
(Volume 96, number 2)

Kathryn Starbuck is the author of Griefmania, a book of poems. Her poems appear in The Best American Poetry 2008, Ploughshares, Poetry, The New Republic, The New Yorker, AGNI, Harvard Review, and elsewhere. This is her second essay in Southwest Review; others are in Gettysburg Review and The Sewanee Review.


The Stover Memorial Award

The Elizabeth Matchett Stover Memorial Award was established in 1978 by Jerry S. Stover of Dallas in memory of his mother, who was for many years a key member of the Southwest Review staff. The award consists of a $300 cash prize and is given to the author of the best poem published in the magazine during the preceding year.

Dave Smith
2011 Elizabeth Matchett Stover Award
 "Hawkes on Wires" and "Sawmill"
(Volume 96, number 3)

Dave Smithís collection of poems, Hawks on Wires, will appear from Louisiana State University Press in Fall 2011. His most recent books are Afield: Writers on Bird Dogs (Skyhorse, 2010); Little Boats, Unsalvaged (lsu, 2006); and The Wick of Memory: New and Selected Poems 1970-2000 (lsu, 2000). He is the Elliot Coleman Professor of Poetry and Chairman of The Writing Seminars at Johns Hopkins University.


Sarah Strong
2011 Elizabeth Matchett Stover Award
(Volume 96, number 4)

Sarah Pemberton Strongís poems have appeared in The Southern Review, Spoon River Poetry Review, RATTLE, The Sun, and elsewhere. She is also the author of two novels, Burning the Sea (Alyson, 2002) and The Fainting Room (just completed). She lives in Hamden, Connecticut, where she works as a plumber.


Southern Methodist University
PO Box 750374 . Dallas TX 75275-0374
214-768-1037 . Fax 214-768-1408
Email: swr@smu.edu
Copyright Southwest Review 2014