Spirit Point Image
The Volume 10, No. 1 (October 1924) issue was the first to bear the new title Southwest Review and the first issue published by SMU.


The SWR offers awards for the best works of fiction, nonfiction, and poetry published in the magazine. These awards are given by the editors and are not contests.

The McGinnis Ritchie Award

Robert F. Ritchie, who died in 1997, was a long-time and generous supporter of the Southwest Review. In 1960 he established the John H. McGinnis Memorial Award to honor the man who edited the Southwest Review from 1927 to 1943. With a bequest in his will, Mr. Ritchie enabled us to maintain the tradition of his generosity. Since 1998, the  McGinnis-Ritchie Award has been given annually to the best works of fiction and nonfiction published during the previous year in these pages. The awards consist of cash prizes of $500.

Jennifer Key
2008 McGinnis-Ritchie Award for Fiction
"Say Goodbye to the Age of Reason"
(Volume 93, number 3)

Jennifer Key is at work on her first novel, Say Goodbye to the Age of Reason. A former Diane Middlebrook Fellow at the University of Wisconsin and Henry Hoyns Fellow at the University of Virginia, she is currently a visiting assistant professor at Southern Methodist University. Her poetry chapbook will be published as winner of the Jessie Bryce Niles Competition.


Douglas Unger
2008 McGinnis-Ritchie Award for Fiction
"Second Chances"
(Volume 93, number 1)

Douglas Unger is the author of four novels, including Leaving the Land, a finalist for the Pulitzer and Robert F. Kennedy awards, winner of a Society of Midland Authors Award and a Special Citation from the P.E.N. Ernest Hemingway award. His most recent books are Voices from Silence, a year's end "Editor's Choice" selection of "The Washington Post Book World," and Looking for War and Other Stories.


 Steven Kellman
2008 McGinnis-Ritchie Award for Nonfiction, Essay
"Second Wind"
(Volume 93, number 3)

Steven G. Kellman teaches comparative literature at the University of Texas at San Antonio and is the author of Redemption: The Life of Henry Roth (Norton) and The Translingual Imagination (Nebraska). In 2007, he was awarded the National Book Critics Circle's Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing.


Rick Barot
2008 McGinnis-Ritchie Award for Nonfiction, Essay
"Devoted Forms: Reading George Herbert"
(Volume 93, number 3)

Rick Barot's second book of poems, Want, was published by Sarabande Books in 2008. His other essays on poetry have recently appeared or are forthcoming in Pleiades, New England Review, The Yale Review, and Virginia Quarterly Review.


The Stover Memorial Award

The Elizabeth Matchett Stover Memorial Award was established in 1978 by Jerry S. Stover of Dallas in memory of his mother, who was for many years a key member of the Southwest Review staff. The award consists of a $300 cash prize and is given to the author of the best poem published in the magazine during the preceding year.

Julie Sheehan
2008 Elizabeth Matchett Stover Award
 "Big Crazy Victorian'"
(Volume 93, number 3)

Julie Sheehan won the Barnard Women Poets Prize for her second book, Orient Point (W.W. Norton), and the Poets Out Loud Prize for her first book, Thaw (Fordham). Other honors include the Poetry Society of America's Robert H. Winner Prize and The Paris Review's Bernard F. Conners Prize. Her poems have appeared in such publications as Parnassus, Ploughshares, Prairie Schooner, Kenyon Review, The Best American Poetry, and 180 More: Extraordinary Poems for Every Day.


J. D. McClatchy
2008 Elizabeth Matchett Stover Award
 "Three Overtures"
(Volume 93, number 2)

J. D. McClatchy's new collection of poems, Mercury Dressing, is forthcoming from Knopf. Three other books he has edited are also due to appear shortly: The Whole Difference: Selected Writings of Hugo von Hofmannsthal (Princeton), The Four Seasons (Everyman's Library), and (with Stephen Yenser) James Merrill's Selected Poems (Knopf). He teaches at Yale.


Southern Methodist University
PO Box 750374 . Dallas TX 75275-0374
214-768-1037 . Fax 214-768-1408
Email: swr@smu.edu
Copyright Southwest Review 2014