April 23, 2007

Outstanding students recognized at Honors Convocation

SMU Honors Convocation 2007

 • Complete list of honorees (PDF)
 • See a slide show.

Harold Stanley at Honors Convocation 2007
Harold Stanley, SMU's Geurin-Pettus Distinguished Chair of American Politics and Political Economy, gave the address at SMU's 2007 Honors Convocation.

It was a day to salute “the community of the best and the brightest at SMU.”

Students, their families and faculty gathered Monday, April 23, at McFarlin Memorial Auditorium for Honors Day Convocation to recognize departmental award winners and new inductees in honor societies, including the Robert Stewart Hyer Society, Phi Beta Kappa and the University Honors Program.

The convocation address was delivered by Harold W. Stanley, the Geurin-Pettus Distinguished Chair of American Politics and Political Economy. 

Stanley said the SMU honors community encompasses the University Honors Program, undergraduate research, departmental distinction, several honor societies and living-and-learning communities such as the Hilltop Scholars. “Individuals in these can and should be made more connected so that you – our best and brightest – can more easily connect with one another and benefit from greater interaction with like-minded fellow students and, in so doing, elevate the intellectual climate for all at SMU.”

Convocation is a day to pause and take pride, Stanley continued, “and accept the fitting nature of your membership in the SMU honors community.”