Feb. 12, 2007

SMU's Whitney Harding wins
national sports journalism scholarship

Whitney Harding, a broadcast journalism major from The Woodlands, Texas, is among eight national winners of $3,000 scholarships from the Freedom Forum, in conjunction with the NCAA.

The one-year, nonrenewable scholarships are awarded to students who are entering their senior year of study during the 2007-08 academic year and who are majoring in journalism, sports journalism or who have campus sports journalism experience. The program is designed to foster freedoms of speech and press, while also promoting quality sports journalism education at NCAA colleges and universities.

An honors student, Ms. Harding also is the president of SMU's Habitat for Humanity chapter.

“The NCAA and the Freedom Forum are providing scholarship opportunities for students who are serious about their education and more specifically, the field of journalism,” said Charles L. Overby, chairman and chief executive officer of the Freedom Forum. “It’s important that we have a solid pipeline of talent as we continue to develop the next generation of journalists.” Overby is also a member of the NCAA Leadership Advisory Board.

The other 2007-08 Freedom Forum/NCAA Sports Journalism Scholarship recipients are: Tristan S. Aird, California Polytechnic State University; Katherine E. Carrera, Ohio University; Alexander D. Goldberger, Yale University; Ashley R. Hicks, University of Southern California; Jonathan D. Hines, Indiana University; Joshua S. Robinson, Columbia University; and Lindsay R. Schnell, Oregon State University.

# # #