SMU presents awards for excellence

Congratulations to SMU faculty, staff and students who were recognized at the 2008 Awards Extravaganza on April 21.

Receiving the "M" Award, SMU's most prestigious honor, are five faculty and staff members and 10 students (see below) whose contributions to the University are "above and beyond the call of duty." Faculty and staff recipients include:

Karen Click, director of the SMU Women's Center
Diana Grumbles, senior lecturer in English and director of the First-Year Writing Program and Common Reading Experience
Dawn Norris, assistant director, Student Activities and Multicultural Student Affairs
Ellen Pryor, professor of law and associate provost for honors and international programs
Rick Shafer, SMU chief of police

Faculty and staff recipients of Students' Association Awards are recognized for giving unselfishly to the students and the University as a whole. The recipients are:

• Outstanding Administrator – Paul Ludden, University provost and vice president for academic affairs
• Outstanding Trustee – Carl Sewell, chair, Sewell Automotive Companies

The Willis M. Tate Award, also given by the Students' Association, was presented to Dennis Simon, Altshuler Distinguished Teaching Professor in political science. The award honors an outstanding faculty member who has been involved in student life.

Recipients of the Outstanding Faculty Teaching Awards presented by the Rotunda yearbook include:

J. Michael Cruz, lecturer in sociology and undergraduate adviser in the Markets and Culture Program
Carolyn Smith-Morris, assistant professor of anthropology
Tom Stone, senior lecturer in English

Receiving the Extra Mile Awards, presented by Students for New Learning for graciousness and sensitivity to students with learning differences:

Judy Newell, lecturer in mathematical sciences
Pauline Newton, lecturer in English
Stuart Robinson, lecturer in psychology

The Outstanding Faculty/Staff Volunteer Award was presented to DeMarias O'Banner, hall director of Morrison-McGinnis Hall, for "exemplary community service outside the University."

Faculty and staff members receiving the President's Volunteer Service Award, a national program recognizing Americans who have demonstrated a sustained commitment to volunteer service:

Rick Halperin, director of the Human Rights Education Program
Leasa Kowalski, assistant director for residential life and academic initiatives

Superior students

Student recipients of the "M" Award:

Laura Ann Elpers
• Andrew Galloway
• Karen Gutierrez
• Lee Hinga
• Jon Killen
• Daniel Liu
• James Longhofer
• Lauren Powell
• Bryan Shnider
• Katherine Tullos

Other students recognized with special awards are:

Elaine Erdely – James E. Caswell Award, based on contributions to resident student life
Patty Blount – Umphrey Lee Award, based on involvement in the SMU community
Christina Chermak – Avella Winn Hay Award, based on scholarship, character and contribution to the SMU community

Receiving John L. Freehafer Awards, based on recipients' interest in student life, activities and government are:

• Todd Baty
• Charles Berg
• Lamar Dowling
• Shaheen Molavi
• Erin Ramaker
• Katherine White

Presidential Awards of Excellence:

Alex Hetland – Scholar/Athlete
Aisha U-Kiu – Scholar/Leader
Thomas Rogers – Scholar/Volunteer

SMU Dads' Club:

Daniel Liu – Outstanding Senior Man Award

SMU Mothers' Club:

Julie Ann Lutz – Outstanding Senior Woman Award

Office of the Chaplain:

Christina Dohanich – Individual Service Award
17:23 – Group Service Award

SPARC Excellence in Service Award:

• Si Puedes

Students receiving the A. Kenneth Pye Outstanding Greek Leader Award are:

Yasmine Alvarado
• Van Ann Bui
• Brandon Darden
• Michael Formanek
• Daniel Liu
• Megan Voss

Students receiving the President's Volunteer Service Award, a national program recognizing Americans who have demonstrated a sustained commitment to volunteer service:

Clayton Fuller
Mary "Rennie" Gibb
Abdullah Kumas
Chris Lazzara
Thomas Rogers
Courtney Sartor
Bryan Shnider
Jessica Wright