March 24, 2008

SMU Announces Inaugural Athletics Hall of Fame Class

DALLAS (SMU) – The SMU Athletic Department, in conjunction with the SMU Lettermen's Association, today announced the inaugural class of its Athletics Hall of Fame. The 2008 inductees - Forrest Gregg, Lamar Hunt, Martina Moravcova and Payne Stewart - will be honored at an induction dinner and ceremony on Friday, May 2, at 7 p.m. at the Hotel Palomar. Don Meredith will serve as Honorary Chair.

Forrest Gregg

Lamar Hunt

Martina Moravcova

Payne Stewart

The SMU Athletics Hall of Fame is a revitalization and broadening of the SMU/Dr Pepper Hall of Fame, which existed at SMU from 1978 to 1986. The Dr Pepper Hall of Fame honored athletes and administrators who played major roles in establishing the Mustang football program. The 35 members of this group will also be recognized at the May 2 event.

"The Lettermen's Association is proud to have played a part in the formation of the SMU Athletics Hall of Fame," said Lettermen's Association president Jim Johnston. "As one of our stated goals, we are committed to maintaining the fine tradition of SMU Athletics, and a Hall of Fame is a perfect way to help preserve our athletic legacies."

"As a department, we really want to recognize the contributions and successes of our former student-athletes," said SMU's Director of Athletics Steve Orsini. "It is only fitting that we have an active Hall of Fame to commemorate their outstanding accomplishments."

A brief listing of the class and their achievements follow:

Forrest Gregg ('56) - former Mustang football player, coach and athletic director; member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame;

Lamar Hunt ('56) - former SMU football player and founder of the Kansas City Chiefs; member of the Pro Football, Texas Sports, National Soccer and International Tennis Halls of Fame;

Martina Moravcova ('98) - 14-time NCAA swimming champion and Olympic medalist;

Payne Stewart ('79) - 1989 PGA Champion, two-time U.S. Open Champion and member of five U.S. Ryder Cup teams.

Tickets to the Induction Dinner and Ceremony are available by calling (214) 768-4633.

# # #