Oct. 17, 2007

Three SMU Professors Receive ASCAPlus Awards

DALLAS (SMU) – Three music professors at SMU’s Meadows School of the Arts were awarded 2007 ASCAPlus awards recently by the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) in New York.

The recipients are José Bowen, Dean of the Meadows School; Robert Frank, Associate Professor of Theory and Composition; and Simon Sargon, Professor of Composition.

The purpose of the cash awards is to reward composers “whose works have a unique prestige value for which adequate compensation would not otherwise be received, and to compensate those whose works are performed substantially in media not surveyed by ASCAP.” All three musicians have received the awards multiple times in the past.

“We are especially proud of ASCAP members like José Bowen, Robert Frank and Simon Sargon who, while affiliated in an educational capacity with noted institutions such as SMU, also continue to be active composers creating valuable additions to the catalogue of American contemporary works,” said Ken Cicerale, Director of Awards at ASCAP. “We are most appreciative of our partnership with SMU in recognizing and supporting the continued growth and development of our nation’s musical heritage.”

ASCAPlus awards have been presented annually since 1960. Bowen, Frank and Sargon were among the many composers of jazz, concert and popular music nationwide who shared awards totaling $2.6 million.

Recipients were chosen by distinguished award panelists including Judith Clurman, noted choral conductor and educator; Peter Filichia, drama critic for the (Newark) Star-Ledger; Brian Mansfield, country music authority and Nashville correspondent for USA Today; Michael Morgan, conductor of the Oakland East Bay Symphony Orchestra; Melinda Newman, well-known music journalist; Pat Prescott, veteran radio personality who currently co-hosts the morning show on KTWV (“The Wave”) in Los Angeles; and H. Robert Reynolds, Professor Emeritus at the University of Michigan.

# # #