The following is from the April 16, 2008, edition of The Daily Campus.

Pom squad wins NCA National Championship
Cheerleaders Place 2nd in National Contest

SMU's pom team took first place in the open dance division for the second time in three years at the National Dance Alliance Collegiate Cheer and Dance Championship in Daytona Beach, Fla., after executing a mistake-free routine through preliminaries and finals.


Performing a modern jazz routine in the Open I Dance Division, the girls demonstrated a perfect combination of turns and leaps, proving they were much more advanced than the competition.

"I can't be more proud of these girls!" said head coach Lori Lewis. "After three years of coaching them, I am still so proud and excited each time I am with them."

The pom squad defeated West Virginia University and Weber State University by a .007 margin to gain possession of the first-place trophy.

The cheerleaders captured second place in the Small Co-Ed Division I category, falling only .041 points behind the first-place team, the University of Louisville.

While SMU faced some difficulties getting to the beach because of a five-hour flight delay followed by a five-hour bus ride, the trouble did not impact either team's performance.

Members of the Pom Squad included Amy Reese of Highland Village, Texas, Leeann Merry of Rancho Palos Verdes, Calif., Anne Patterson of Dallas, Heather Maule -Finch of Phoenix, Brittney Roberts of Phoenix, Brittany Kemper of The Woodlands, Texas, Megan Sheehan of Jefferson City, Mo., Meredith Robertson of Jefferson City, Mo., Amanda Green of Burleson, Texas, Emily Kogan of Long Beach, Calif., Amanda Kovach of The Woodlands, Texas, Michael Bird of Colleyville, Texas, Lexi Muller of Greenwich Village, Colo., Melissa McDowell of Austin, Nicole Schultz of Reno, Nev., and Lisa Rodriguez of Overland Park, Kan.

Members of the Cheerleaders included A.J. Petrozzi, Ambrel Mitchell, Brea Myers, Ashley Brooke Wright, Carolyn Taricco, Cassie Thiessen, Claire Anne Allen, Erica Clemmensen, Heather Daley, Jake Murray, Jenna Vitalone, Kelby Herzog, Kelsey Mansheim, Kristina Carbonneau, Linsday Neese, Madeleine Holmes, Ryan Hicks, Sam Kenney, Sara Bedford, Scott Simari, Tifffany Fettinger, Nicholas Franklin and Elzie Odom III

Related Links:
 • Read the full Daily Campus story.
 • See a video of the Pom Squad's winning performance
 • See a video of the Cheerleader's performance

# # #