Thomas Arp, English (Emeritus), received the Robert Adger Law Prize for the best Shakespeare presentation at the annual Conference of College Teachers of English in Corpus Christi. His paper, “Is ‘To be, or not to be’ a Soliloquy?” The prize includes a cash award as well as publication in CCTE Studies.






Annemarie Weyl Carr, Art History, received a 2006 Distinguished Teaching of Art History Award from the College Art Association.

Zhangxin (John) Chen, Mathematics, received the Chang Jiang Chaired Professorship, the highest academic award given by the Chinese Ministry of Education.

Dennis Cordell, History, was made an honorary Quebecois, a special award from the Canadian Association of African Studies/Association canadienne des etudes africaines, presented at its annual meeting in April 2005, for his promotion of bilingualism in CAAS.

Anthony Cortese, Sociology, has been nominated for the 2006 Gustavus Myers Outstanding Book Award for his book Opposing Hate Speech (Praeger Publishers, 2005). The awards identify and review books published each year analyzing bigotry and discrimination and advancing human rights.

Scott C. Douglas, Electrical Engineering, and Ph.D. student Jack Chao won the Blind Signal Separation portion of the first annual Data Analysis Competition of the IEEE Workshop on Machine Learning for Signal Processing in September 2005. Their winning algorithm achieved the best performance on three of the four benchmarks developed for the signal separation portion of the competition.

Robert Frank, Music/Composition/Theory, premiered “Figaronacht Overture” in Salzburg, Austria, at the opening concert of the 2005-06 Mozarteum Music Program, under the auspices of the Salzburg Summer Music Festival to celebrate the 250th anniversary year of Mozart’s birth. The work was commissioned by Eduard Schmieder, Music/Violin, who also conducted the premiere.

Randall Griffin, Art History, received the Vasari Award for 2005 from the Dallas Museum of Art for his book, Homer, Eakins, and Anshutz: The Search for American Identity in the Gilded Age (Penn State Press, 2004). The award honors the best art history book authored by a scholar from Texas.

Ruben L.F. Habito, Theology, received the Frederick J. Streng Annual Book Award for 2005 from the Society for Buddhist Christian Studies for his work, Living Zen, Loving God (Wisdom Publications, 2004), presented at the annual meeting of the American Academy of Religion in November 2005.

Michael Hawn, Theology, served as music director for worship at the 9th Assembly of the World Council of Churches in Porto Alegre, Brazil, in February 2006.

Roy L. Heller, Theology, has been presented the Golden Mustang Award for Outstanding Faculty for 2005-06. The award of $1,000, which supports the advancement of teaching and learning, is given annually to a junior, tenure-track faculty member.

Carol Leone, Music/Piano, was named the Texas Music Teachers Association’s 2005 Collegiate Teacher of the Year.

Geoffrey C. Orsak, Engineering, has received the EE Times ACE Award for Educator of the Year, which recognizes an individual who brings leadership, creativity, and inspiration to students through an engineering or science curriculum at colleges or secondary schools. He serves as executive director of SMU’s Institute for Engineering Education.

Tony Pederson, Journalism, received the Lifetime Communicator Award in the 2005 Norvell Slater Communication Awards from the DFW Chapter of the Religion Communicators Council, a national interfaith organization of professional communicators.

William Pulte, Bilingual Education, received the 2005 Higher Education Honoree Award from the Texas Association for Bilingual Education.

Willard Spiegelman, English, won the PEN Nora Magid Award for his high literary standards and sustained guidance in editing the Southwest Review literary journal.

Jay Sullivan, Art, received the 2005 University Scholar/Teacher-of-the-Year award from The United Methodist Church’s General Board of Higher Education and Ministry.

David J. Weber, History/Clements Center for Southwest Studies, received the Orden Mexicana del Águila Azteca from Mexico’s President Vicente Fox in fall 2005. The award is the highest honor the Mexican government bestows on foreign nationals. In February 2006 fellow historians elected him to a three-year term on the Executive Board of the Organization of American Historians, the premier organization for historians of U.S. history.