Year 2005 | Volume 12    Southern Methodist University


(Clockwise from top left)
Kathleen Wellman, U. Narayan Bhat, Jamie Clark-Soles, Simon Sargon, Geoffrey Orsak, and Caroline Brettell are among numerous SMU faculty members who have been recognized for research, teaching, and leadership in their fields.

Peter Bakewell, History, has published the second edition of The History of Latin America: 1450 to the Present (Blackwell Publishing, 2004).

Carolyn Barta, Journalism, received the 2004 First Amendment Award for Opinion Writing from the Fort Worth Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists for an editorial published in The Dallas Morning News, “Let the Sun Shine: Texas Legislature needs to record votes.”

U. Narayan Bhat, Engineering Management, Information, and Systems, received the 2004 Informs Fellow Award, which recognizes outstanding contributions, achievements, and service that have advanced the profession of operations research and the management sciences.

David D. Blackwell, Geological Sciences, received the GRC Special Achievement Award at the Geothermal Resources Council 2004 meeting for his outstanding achievements in geothermal heat flow studies.

Caroline Brettell, Anthropology, co-chaired the final International Migration Fellows Program of the Social Science Research Council in January 2004. She spoke on “Space and Integration: Immigrants to DFW” in April 2004 at the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars in Washington, D.C.

Jaimie Clark-Soles, Theology, received the Louisville Institute of Christian Faith and Life Sabbatical Grant, Catholic Biblical Association Post-Doctoral Fellowship, and a grant to the Wabash Center Workshop on Teaching and Learning for Theological School Faculty.

Clements Center for Southwest Studies was the subject of the summer 2004 issue of the Journal of the Southwest, published at the University of Arizona, featuring essays by seven of its former fellows.

Alessandra Comini, Art History, has written In Passionate Pursuit: A Memoir (George Braziller, 2004), about her six decades as an art historian.

Anthony Cortese, Sociology, received the highest rating – Essential – from CHOICE: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries for Provocateur: Images of Women and Minorities in Advertising (2nd ed., Rowman & Littlefield, 2004). He also received the 2004 Critics’ Choice award from the American Educational Studies Association for his book Walls and Bridges: Social Justice and Public Policy (State University of New York Press, 2004).

Gail Daly, Underwood Law Library, has been appointed by President George W. Bush to serve on the National Museum and Library Services Board, which advises the Institute of Museum and Library Services, a federal agency that allocates more than $200 million in grants to the nation’s museums and libraries.

Joe Downing, Corporate Communications and Public Affairs, published an article on American Airlines’ use of mediated employee channels after the September 11, 2001, attacks in Public Relations Review 30 (1).

David Epstein, Law, received the 2004 Lawrence P. King Award for excellence in the field of bankruptcy from the Bankruptcy Section of the Commercial Law League of America.

Robert Frank, Composition/Theory, and Simon Sargon, Composition, received 2004-05 ASCAP Plus Awards based upon the value of their original compositions and recent performances. Frank’s orchestral work “Viva Vivaldi!”, commissioned for the 2004 Viva Vivaldi International Festival of the Arts, Mexico City, premiered at the festival’s opening concert in August.

Dennis Ippolito, Political Science; Benjamin Johnson, History; and Kathleen A. Wellman, History, received the 2004 Godbey Lecture Series Authors’ Awards for books they published in 2003. Ippolito was honored for Why Budgets Matter: Budget Policy in American Politics; Johnson for Revolution in Texas: How a Forgotten Rebellion and Its Bloody Suppression Turned Mexicans into Americans; and Wellman for Making Science Social: The Conferences of Theophraste Renaudot, 1633-1642.

Bill Komodore, Art, completed 15 large works that were shown at the Gerald Peters Gallery in Dallas. Three works were shown at the Meadows Museum in the exhibition “Texas Visions, The Barrett Collection.”

Tom Mayo, Law, was named a fellow of the American Health Lawyers Association.

Daniel Millimet, Economics, has been appointed to the editorial council for the Journal of Environmental Economics & Management for 2005-06.

Pauline T. Newton, English, was awarded the 2003-04 Sam Taylor Award, given to scholars focusing on works that enhance Texas. The award allowed her to interview Texas poet and author Jenny Boully.

Geoffrey Orsak, Electrical Engineering, was elected a fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) for his leadership in developing curricula and technology for pre-college engineering education.

Pamela A. Patton, Art History, published Pictorial Narrative in the Romanesque Cloister: Cloister Imagery and Religious Life in Medieval Spain (Peter Lang, 2004).

Bill Schucany, Statistical Science, received the 2004 ASA Founders Award from the American Statistical Association.

David Weber, History, gave the annual Charles Edmondson Historical Lectures at Baylor in March 2004 and the annual Merrick-Travis Lecture at the University of Oklahoma in September 2004.