News and Information SMU Home Page Research and Graduate Studies
SMU Research 2000 Logo
Faculty Recognition
SMU Research 2000 Top Navbar

William Abraham, Theology, was the joint winner of the national book award for the best scholarly book for 1999 given by The Institute of Christian Studies for his book Canon and Criterion in Christian Theology, From the Fathers to Feminism.

Joaquín Achúcarro, Piano, received the UNESCO Artist for Peace Award in Paris in November 1999. He was recognized for his cooperation with UNESCO concerning human rights and peace. In addition to receiving the honor, he performed for those in attendance.

Caroline Brettell, Anthropology, was elected vice president (1999-2000) and president (2000-2001) of the Social Science History Association, an interdisciplinary scholarly organization. She will be the first anthropologist to serve as the organization’s president.

James E. Brooks, Geological Sciences, received the 1999 Public Service Award from the American Association of Petroleum Geologists at its annual meeting in April in San Antonio.

Donald Butler, Electrical Engineering, received the 1999 Outstanding Service Award from the Dallas Chapter of the IEEE Electron Device Society.

Nell Carvell, Learning Therapy, received the Excellence in Education award from the Dallas branch of the International Dyslexia Association. She was recognized for her many years of work in the field of written-language disabilities, her work with the SMU Learning Therapy Program, and her work through SMU with teachers and children of Head Start of Greater Dallas.

Richard Gunst, Statistical Science, won the Founder’s Award from the American Statistical Association in August 1999 for exceptionally distinguished service.

Someshwar Gupta, Electrical Engineering, was elected a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers for his contribution to the theory of phase-locked loops and mobile cellular communication.

Ronald Hendel, Religious Studies, was awarded the 1998 Frank Moore Cross Award by the American Schools of Oriental Research for his book The Text of Genesis 1-11.

Debora Hunter, Art, exhibited her work in the show "Developing Illusions, 1873-1998: Photographs from the Corcoran Collection," presented by the Corcoran Gallery of Art in Washington, D.C. KERA-TV Channel 13 produced a documentary on Hunter’s work for its series "Deep in the Arts."

William K. McElvaney, Theology, received the 1999 Texas Conference of Churches’ Fitzpatrick Award for Ecumenical Leadership for distinguished contributions to ecumenism.

Daniel Slottje, Economics, was ranked by the Journal of Applied Econometrics, 1999, as the third most published applied econometrician from 1989-95.

C.W. Smith, English, won a $6,000 prize with the Jesse H. Jones Award for Fiction at the annual meeting of the Texas Institute of Letters in Austin for his novel Understanding Women.


Copyright 2000 Southern Methodist University. All rights reserved.
Legal Statements and Disclosures



1999 Issue
1998 Issue
Research Magazine: General Information
Dean's Message
Research News
Faculty Profiles
Seismic Signatures
Setting the Standard
Net Impact
Theology in Action
Manufacturing the Future
Helping the Disabled do Math

The Internet and the Law

Gender and the Middle Ages

Financial Engineering
From the Hilltop to the Market place
Profiting from Patents
Scholar of the Southwest
In Pursuit of the Sacred and the Obscured
Sponsored Research
Faculty Publications
Faculty Recognition
Mary Vernon: Portrait of an Artist