Reporters may contact: Craig Boleman
SMU Meadows School of the Arts
(214) 768-3785



A Chicago-based firm for the past 35 years, Hammond Beeby Rupert Ainge have, in their words, "pursued a course in architecture that is based on the principle that context is a major force in the determination of form in building." The current principals of the firm, Thomas Beeby, Dennis Rupert, and Gary Ainge, have a strong belief that "collaborative efforts between client and architect result in the finest buildings."

The firm has wide experience with museum and library design and realization, and has worked frequently in the university context. A recent major example of the latter is the James A. Baker III Institute for Public Policy at Rice University in Houston. Among the notable museum projects have been a master plan and major renovations for The Toledo Museum of Art (1992 Design Award, American Institute of Architects, Ohio) and The Daniel F. and Ada L. Rice Building at The Art Institute of Chicago. The Rice Building won both a 1991 National Honor Award from the American Institute of Architects and a 1990 Certificate of Merit from the Chicago chapter of the American Institute of Architects.

The firm's largest project to date is The Harold Washington Library Center, a 10 story, 750,000-square-foot main library located in Chicago. Completed in 1991, it is the nation's largest circulating library.

In addition to six National Honor Awards from the American Institute of Architects, the firm has received more than 20 American Institute of Architects Chicago and other local Chapter Distinguished Building and Honor Awards. Supplementing these have been many technical awards for lighting design, use of masonry in architectural detailing, and corporate campus design. In 1989 the firm received the Louis Sullivan Award for Architecture and in 1994 the Firm of the Year Award from the Chicago chapter of the American Institute of Architects.


Related information:

Additional visuals: