April 18, 2008

SMU Historian David Weber To Receive
Lon Tinkle Award From Texas Institute Of Letters

DALLAS (SMU) — SMU historian David J. Weber will receive the prestigious Lon Tinkle Award from the Texas Institute of Letters at its annual banquet April 19. The award recognizes excellence sustained throughout a career. Weber is the Robert and Nancy Dedman Professor of History at SMU, where he also directs the William P. Clements Center for Southwest Studies.

David J. Weber

"David Weber was a natural choice for this award," said Fran Vick, president of the Texas Institute of Letters. "He is a preeminent scholar whose books have won awards on top of awards. He is definitely a man who should be recognized for his lifetime achievement, which the Lon Tinkle Award does."

Weber is one of the nation's leading historians of the American Southwest and the U.S.-Mexico borderlands. In 2007 he was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Two governments have given Weber the highest honor they bestow on foreigners. In 2002 King Juan Carlos of Spain named him to membership in the Real Orden de Isabel la Catolica, and in 2005 Mexico named him to the Orden Mexicana del Aguila Azteca.

 Weber is the author or editor of more than 20 books and 60 scholarly articles. His books have won numerous major awards, including the American Historical Association's 2006 John Edwin Fagg Prize for B├írbaros: Spaniards and Their Savages in the Age of Enlightenment, the Spain and America Prize from the Spanish Ministry of Culture for The Spanish Frontier in North America and awards from the Organization of American Historians and Westerners International for The Mexican Frontier, 1821-1846.

The Texas Institute of Letters was founded in 1936 as a non-profit organization whose purpose is to stimulate interest in Texas letters and to recognize distinctive literary achievement. It annually gives awards for published work and, with the University of Texas at Austin, supports the Paisano Fellowships for writers. Marshall Terry, SMU professor emeritus of English, received the Lon Tinkle Award in 1990. Other recipients have included Larry McMurtry, Horton Foote, William Humphrey and Cormac McCarthy.

The Institute will hold its annual meeting April 18-19 at the Hilton Park Cities Hotel in Dallas. Tickets to the awards banquet on April 19, at $50 each, may be ordered by checks made payable to the Texas Institute of Letters and sent to James Hoggard, Department of English, Midwestern State University, Wichita Falls, Texas 76308. 

# # #