Oct. 11, 2007

SMU Psychologist Receives President’s New Researcher Award

SMU psychology professor Jasper Smits is the 2007 recipient of the President’s New Researcher Award for his research on social anxiety.

Each year the president of the Association for Behavioral and Cognitive Therapies (ABCT) selects the most promising researcher with five years or less post-training experience. The ABCT, an interdisciplinary organization committed to the advancement of a scientific approach to the understanding of problems of the human condition, awarded Smits for his paper entitled, “Cognitive Mechanisms of Social Anxiety Reduction: An Examination of Specificity and Temporality.”

SMU professors Renee McDonald and David Rosenfield were co-authors of this award-winning paper.



Media Contact:
Levente Smith
tele. 214-768-7650