Dena Hill

October 9, 2006

Missional Evangelism: Cultivating Missional Committee

Dallas, Texas – Perkins School of Theology at Southern Methodist University announces The Center for the Advanced Study and Practice of Evangelism’s 2006 Craven-Wilson Lecture Series featuring Rev. Dr. Inagrace Dietterich. Lectures and discussion groups will be held from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m., Nov. 6, 2006, in Selecman Auditorium, Selecman Hall, 5905 Bishop Blvd., on the SMU campus. Parking is available directly across the street in the Meadows Museum garage.

Dr. Dietterich is the Director of Theological Research at the Center for Parish Development, Chicago, Ill. An elder in the Iowa Conference of The United Methodist Church, she holds a Ph.D. in Christian Theology from the University of Chicago Divinity School. Dr. Dietterich works with congregations to cultivate the church as missional community. She is a contributing author to Missional Church: A Vision for the Sending of the Church in North America and Stormfront: The Good News of God, among other publications. 

The Craven-Wilson Lecture Series is dedicated to making available to students and churches in North Texas, nationally recognized leaders in the ministry of evangelism.  The lecture is made possible through an endowed gift from the late Evie Jo Wilson of St. Paul’s United Methodist Church in Houston. Wilson was long noted for her support of higher education and the church.

Pre-registration is required, with a registration fee of $25. The fee includes both CEUs and lunch. Register on-line: 

For more information, email the Center at, or call 214-768-2167.

Perkins School of Theology is one of five University-related official schools of theology of The United Methodist Church. The school was founded in 1911 by the Methodist Episcopal Church South, now The United Methodist Church. Degree programs include the Master of Church Ministry, Master of Divinity, Master of Sacred Music, Master of Theological Studies, and Doctor of Ministry degree, as well as the Ph.D. in cooperation with SMU’s Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences.