May 1, 2006


SMU Associate Provost Ellen Pryor
Associate Provost Pryor

DALLAS (SMU) — Law Professor Ellen Pryor has been named SMU’s associate provost for honors and international programs. Among her administrative responsibilities in this newly created position is the coordination of all SMU honors programs and the University’s international programs and initiatives.

Pryor, who joined the SMU faculty in 1986, has been the Homer R. Mitchell Professor of Law in Dedman School of Law since 2003. She was honored in 2005 as one of four Piper Professors selected in the state of Texas by the Minnie Piper Foundation. In 2001 she was named Altshuler University Distinguished Teaching Professor and one of four inaugural members of SMU’s Academy of Distinguished Teachers. She received SMU’s United Methodist Church Scholar-Teacher of the Year Award in 2000.

“Ellen Pryor is an engaged citizen of the University as well as an outstanding legal scholar,” says SMU Provost Robert Blocker. “Her leadership and dedication to excellence make her an ideal person to carry out these new responsibilities.”

Pryor’s University activities include membership on the Provost’s Advisory Committee on Tenure and Promotion since 1998 and service to the law school as Executive Committee member in 2000-2002, Faculty Appointment Committee member from 1998-2004, and chair of the Promotion Committee from 1999-2000. She earned a B.A. degree from Rice University and a. J.D. degree from the University of Texas School of Law, where she was editor-in-chief of Texas Law Review.

“As SMU’s student body continues to rise in academic quality, it is important to have a strong honors program to provide a stimulating intellectual environment for these students. And as we seek to prepare students for an increasingly global society, international programs play a greater role as an educational resource,” said SMU President R. Gerald Turner. “Because of her distinction as a teacher and scholar, and her involvement in University life, Ellen Pryor will bring broad knowledge and important perspectives to her new role.”

Pryor is a member of the Association of American Law Schools’ Committee on Sections and Annual Meeting. She has written extensively on tort law, compensation theory, and insurance law and co-authored Advanced Torts and The Law of Torts. In 1985 she received the Dallas Bar Association Pro Bono Award of the Year and the State Bar of Texas Frank Scurlock Award for outstanding pro bono service.