Contact: Melanie O’Brien or Meredith Dickenson 214-768-7650

February 24, 2004


DALLAS (SMU) — Southern Methodist University’s Dedman School of Law honored seven individuals at its annual Distinguished Alumni Awards Dinner Feb. 21 in Dallas. Each year the law school recognizes graduates who have distinguished themselves through professional achievements, philanthropy, public service or outstanding service to SMU's Dedman School of Law. This year’s recipients were:

Walter J. Humann ’67 received the Robert G. Storey Award for Distinguished Achievement, which is the highest award the SMU Dedman School of Law offers. Humann’s efforts led to the creation of Dallas Area Rapid Transit (DART), and he was the leader of the Central Expressway Task Force. He is Chairman and CEO of WJH Corp.

Judith K. Johnson ’75 received the Charles O. Galvin Award for Service to the SMU Dedman School of Law. Johnson is senior counsel at the Dallas office of Hunton & Williams LLP. She is a long-time volunteer for the law school.

Justice Reynato S. Puno ’67 received the Distinguished Global Alumni Award. Puno has served as an Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of the Philippines since 1993. He is also the youngest person ever appointed to that Court. His award will be presented at a later date.

Judge Fred Biery ’73 received the Distinguished Alumni Award for Judicial Service. Biery has more than 25 years of judicial service. He is currently serving as United States District Judge for the Western District of Texas in San Antonio.

Donald E. Godwin ’73 received the Distinguished Alumni Award for Private Practice. Godwin is the Chairman and CEO of Godwin Gruber, LLP in Dallas, which specializes in business and commercial litigation in Texas and throughout the U.S.

Rhonda Hunter ’80 received the Distinguished Alumni Award for Public Service. Hunter is the first family law lawyer and first African-American to serve as President of the Dallas Bar Association.

Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison received the Honorary Alumnus Award. She and her husband are long-time supporters of SMU.

Click on the images below for high-resolution versions:

Walter J. Humann Judith K. Johnson Justice Reynato S. Puno Judge Fred Biery
Donald E. Godwin Rhonda Hunter Kay Bailey Hutchison