Contact: Ellen Sterner
SMU News & Media Relations
(214) 768-7650

Feb. 15, 2002


DALLAS (SMU) -- Ten Southern Methodist University students recently received awards from the Office of Research and Graduate Studies for their research during the school's annual Graduate Student Research Day. More than 40 students from nine science and engineering departments presented their research at the event.

Joy Pfannstiel received the award for Biological Sciences for her research on the TRACK protein found in Trypanosoma brucei. Pfannstiel's adviser is Professor Larry Ruben.

Jennifer Nash Cambre and Tanja Kmecko shared the award for Chemistry research. Both are doing polymer research with Professor Patty Wisian-Neilson.

Jun-Chang Lu and Rongmao Zhou shared the award for Geological Sciences. Lu is studying a fossil pterosaur from China with Professor Louis Jacobs. Zhou was honored for the second year in a row for his work in developing new algorithms to improve modeling of mining explosions. His adviser is Professor Brian Stump.

Baoyan Li from Mathematics was honored for her research on simulation of petroleum reservoirs. Li's adviser is Professor Zhangxin Chen.

Sergio Juarez won the award for Statistical Science research for his analysis of ozone measurements in Yosemite National Park. Juarez' adviser is Professor William Schucany.

Lee McFearin received the award for Computer Science and Engineering for his research on finding division flaws. McFearin's adviser is Professor David Matula.

Hui Dong received the award for Electrical Engineering for his research on bandwidth scalable speech coding for rate switching in wireless environments. Dong's adviser is Professor Jerry Gibson.

Payam Khashaee received the award for Mechanical Engineering for his research on modeling earthquake damage to structures. Khashaee's adviser is Professor Bijan Mohraz.

Four graduate students in the humanities and social sciences also received awards in a separate research symposium. Katie Keene and John McQuillen received awards for their research in Medieval studies, and Halis Murat Yildiz and Hiranya Nath received awards for their research in economics.