Contact: Patti LaSalle
SMU Public Affairs
(214) 768-7660



Advertising courses were first offered in the Journalism Department of SMU’s College of Arts and Sciences in 1955-56. The Journalism Department joined Meadows School of the Arts in 1969. The advertising major became one of five majors offered in the Center for Communication Arts when it was formed within the Meadows School in 1983. In a restructuring of the Meadows School in 1999, the Center for Communication Arts was dissolved and its components became the divisions of Advertising, Cinema-Television, Journalism, and Arts Administration and Corporate Communications.

Since 1999 the Division of Advertising has raised admission requirements, strengthened its curriculum and hired several new faculty members. The division became the Temerlin Advertising Institute for Education and Research in October 2001. It has the largest enrollment of any academic unit in the Meadows School, with 220 majors in fall 2001.

The Temerlin Advertising Institute has set a goal of becoming one of the leading undergraduate advertising programs in the United States. It will strengthen advertising education at SMU through an endowment for three faculty positions and resources for scholarships, faculty research support, student awards and a lecture series.

High-resolution .jpg photos: