Reporters may contact: Ellen Mayou
SMU News & Information
(214) 768-7659

June 13, 2001


Click on the photo below to view or download a high-resolution .jpg version.


DALLAS (SMU) -- Two new leadership positions have been announced in Southern Methodist University's School of Engineering.

Hesham El-Rewini

Hesham El-Rewini will become chair of the Computer Science and Engineering Department, effective August 1. El-Rewini comes to SMU from the University of Nebraska at Omaha, where he served as professor and interim chair of the Department of Computer Science. El-Rewini is a widely recognized authority on mobile computing, wireless networks and parallel processing. He has authored several books, including Introduction to Parallel Computing, Task Scheduling in Parallel and Distributed Systems, and Distributed and Parallel Computing. He currently is working on a new book on computer architecture to be published later this year.

El-Rewini received his Ph.D. in computer science from Oregon State University.

Yildirim Hurmuzlu

Yildirim Hurmuzlu has been named chair of the Mechanical Engineering Department, also effective August 1.

Hurmuzlu has been a member of the SMU faculty since 1987. His research focuses on designing control systems for a wide range of applications, including biomedicine. His research group currently is developing on a mechanical arm that will enable physicians to diagnose patients from afar or operate on a person at a remote location.

Hurmuzlu received his Ph.D. in mechanical engineering and mechanics from Drexel University in Philadelphia.

"With these two additions, we now have a complete leadership team in place," said Stephen Szygenda, dean of the SMU School of Engineering.

The SMU School of Engineering, which was founded in 1925, offers undergraduate degrees in computer engineering, computer science, management science, mechanical engineering, electrical engineering and environmental engineering. The school focuses on giving students a value-added education that will enable them to become successful future leaders. For more information on the school, visit its Web site at