Contact: Ann Abbas
SMU Public Affairs
(214) 768-7655

May 4, 2001


DALLAS (SMU) -- At Southern Methodist University's annual Awards Extravaganza, five faculty and staff members received SMU's most prestigious honor, the "M" Award for outstanding service "above and beyond the call of duty." The "M" Award recipients are Patti LaSalle, associate vice president for public affairs; Randy Phillips, associate dean for administration in Dedman College; Rita Whillock, associate professor of corporate communications and public affairs in Meadows School of the Arts; Hal Williams, professor of history in Dedman College; and Michael van Breda, professor of accounting in Edwin L. Cox School of Business.

Awards presented by the Students' Association included the Outstanding Trustee Award to Ruth Altshuler, Board of Trustees chair; the Outstanding Administrator Award to Jeanne Whitman, vice president for development and external affairs; and the Willis M. Tate Award to Barbara Hill Moore, professor of voice in Meadows School of the Arts. The Outstanding Faculty/Staff Volunteer Award from the Office of Community Involvement went to James Goodnight, executive-in-residence and interim chair of the Advertising Division in Meadows School of the Arts.

The Rotunda yearbook presented Outstanding Faculty Awards to Robert C. Davis, associate professor of mathematics, Dedman College; Rick Halperin, assistant director of the Office of Community Involvement and adjunct professor of history, Dedman College; Martine Prieto, adjunct lecturer of French, Dedman College; and Kathy LaTour, senior lecturer of corporate communications and public affairs, Meadows School of the Arts.

In addition to faculty and staff awards, 30 students and student organizations were honored at SMU's 2000-2001 Awards Extravaganza.