About Us Board of Directors Membership Upcoming Events Silver Anniversary Award

Hixson Named To Southwest Conference Hall Of Fame

Chuck Hixson
Chuck Hixson

SMU football great Chuck Hixson (‘70) will join Marci Bozarth (TCU), Chris Gilbert (Texas), Jacob Green (Texas A&M), David Klingler (Houston), Coach John McDonnell (Arkansas), Regina Cavanaugh Murphy (Rice), Coach Dutch Schroeder (Baylor), and Carolyn Thompson (Texas Tech) as members of the 2014 inductees into the newly reformed Southwester Conference Hall of Fame, sponsored by the Texas Sports Hall of Fame.

Chuck Hixson had a record-setting career at SMU from 1968 to ’70. After leading the nation in passing as a sophomore, he was awarded the Sammy Baugh Trophy in 1968. During his college career, Hixson completed 642 passes in 1,115 attempts for 7,179 yards, with 40 touchdowns and 56 interceptions. All of these numbers, except touchdown passes, stood as SMU school records until the 2012 season.

Mr. Hixson served as Lettermen’s Association President from 2011-2013 and remains actively involved in Lettermen’s activities at SMU.

The 2014 class will be honored at a luncheon and ceremony on Monday, April 7th, at 11:30 AM in Houston at the Royal Sonesta Hotel. Visit www.tshof.org/events to reserve event tickets at $75 each or tables of 10 for $500, or to access sponsorship information.

Congratulations, Chuck!

The SMU Lettermen's Association
PO Box 750315
5800 Ownby Drive
Dallas, TX 75275-0315