Connect To header


Southern Methodist University is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools to award Bachelor's, Master's, professional, and doctoral degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of Southern Methodist University.
Please note: the Commission is to be contacted only if there is evidence that appears to support an institution’s significant non-compliance with a requirement or standard.

Individual academic programs are accredited by the appropriate national professional associations. The Edwin L. Cox School of Business was last accredited by AACSB International, the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business in 2007. The Dedman School of Law is accredited by the American Bar Association, last accredited in 2007. The Perkins School of Theology is accredited by The Commission on Accrediting of the Association of Theological Schools, last in 2000. The Department of Chemistry is accredited by the American Chemical Society, last in 2002. The Department of Psychology’s Ph.D. program in Clinical Psychology received accreditation from the American Psychological Association in 2009. In the Meadows School of the Arts, the Art, Art History, and Guildhall programs in digital Game Development and the Master of Interactive Technology are accredited through the National Association of Schools of Art and Design, last in 2007; the Dance Division is accredited by the National Association of Schools of Dance, last in 2004; the Music Division by the National Association of Schools of Music, last in 1998; the Music Therapy program's accreditation is covered by the last NASM accreditation; the Theatre program is accredited by the National Association of Schools of Theater, the last update received in 2002. Accredited programs in the School of Education and Human Development include the Teacher Education undergraduate and graduate certificate programs, which are accredited by the State Board of Educator Certification (SBEC) and the Texas Education Agency (TEA).  This is an annual certification rather than a periodic reaccreditation; the Learning Therapist Certificate program which is accredited by the International Multisensory Structured Language Education Council was last accredited in 2006.

The Lyle School of Engineering undergraduate programs in civil engineering, computer engineering, electrical engineering, environmental engineering and mechanical engineering are accredited by the Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET, 111 Market Place, Suite 1050, Baltimore, MD 21202-4012 – telephone: (410) 347-7700. The undergraduate computer science program that awards the degree Bachelor of Science (B.S.) is accredited by the Computing Accreditation Commission of ABET. The undergraduate computer science program that awards the degree Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) is not accredited by a Commission of ABET. ABET does not provide accreditation for the disciplines of environmental science and management science.